Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa Wins Walter Camp, Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray Wins Best Quarterback

, , Comments Off on Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa Wins Walter Camp, Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray Wins Best Quarterback

Heisman finalists Tua Tagovailoa and Kyler Murray were among the night’s early winners.

The College Football Awards show aired Thursday night from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, also a Heisman Trophy frontrunner, took home the Walter Camp award for player of the year to start the night. Fellow Heisman finalist Kyler Murray of Oklahoma won the Davey O’Brien Award for best quarterback shortly after.

The Maxwell Award for College Player of the Year is still to be presented. Established in 1937, two years after the Heisman, the Maxwell has gone on to become an indicator of that year’s Heisman winner with 39 of the 81 winners of the Maxwell Award going on to win the Heisman. Eighteen of the 37 Davey O’Brien Award winners have gone on to win the Heisman as well.

Finalists and winners (this post will be updated as winner’s are announced): 

Maxwell Award

Description: College Player of the Year
Finalists: Will Grier, West Virginia; Kyler Murray, Oklahoma; Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

Davey O’Brien Award

Description: Nation’s Best Quarterback
Winner: Kyler Murray, Oklahoma

Walter Camp Award

Description: Player of the Year
Winner: Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

Bednarik Award

Description: College Defensive Player of the Year
Finalists: Josh Allen, Kentucky; Christian Wilkins, Clemson; Quinnen Williams, Alabama

Biletnikoff Award

Description: Nation’s best receiver
Winner: Devin White, LSU 

Butkus Award

Description: Nation’s best linebacker
Finalists: Andy Isabella, UMass; Jerry Jeudy, Alabama; Tylan Wallace, Oklahoma State

Mackey Award

Description: Nation’s best tight end
Winner: T.J. Hockenson, Iowa

Nagurski Award

Description: Nation’s best defensive player
Winner: Josh Allen, Kentucky

Paul Hornung Award

Description: Most versatile player
Finalists: Rondale Moore, Purdue

Lou Groza Award

Description: Nation’s outstanding placekicker
Finalists: Cooper Rothe, Wyoming; Andre Szmut, Syracuse; Cole Tracy, LSU

Ray Guy Award

Description: College punter of the year
Finalists: Braden Mann, Texas A&M; James Smith, Cincinnati; Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah

Outland Trophy

Description: Nation’s best interior lineman
Finalists: Christian Wilkins, Clemson; Jonah Williams, Alabama; Quinnen Williams, Alabama

Paycom Jim Thorpe Award

Description: Nation’s best defensive back
Finalists: DeAndre Baker, Georgia; Julian Love, Notre Dame; Greedy Williams, LSU

Doak Walker Award

Description: Nation’s best running back
Finalists: Travis Etienne, Clemson; Darrell Henderson, Memphis; Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin

Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year

Winner: Brian Kelly, Notre Dame

William V. Campbell Trophy

Description: Academics, service
Winner: Christian Wilkins, Clemson

Heisman Trophy

Description: Most Outstanding Player
Finalists: Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama; Kyler Murray, Oklahoma; Dwayne Haskins, Ohio State

Click for article source